Evening Skincare Routine

If you are as into watching beauty vloggers on youtube as I am, you have probably noticed when they do a skincare video it seems unrealistic for everyday. They claim to use a myriad of products both in the morning and the evening, and yeah I would love to be able to have the time to do that too. Sadly, some days (most days actually) I barely have time to take off my makeup, let alone use 13 different moisturizers. I’ve decided to share my actual daily evening skincare regiment that takes less than five minutes a day.

Ideally I would do this early, around 7 or so, but I tend to forget to take of my makeup until around 8 or 9 pm (sometimes I accidentally fall asleep with it on, and wake up only to drag myself to the bathroom zombie style to take it off.) Assuming this is a normal night when I don’t forget, I start by removing my makeup. Depending on the amount of makeup I was wearing for the day, this step differs. If I’m more makeup than usual, or stubborn waterproof makeup, I will start with makeup remover or a facial wipe. My favorite makeup remover is the NARS Gentle Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover. It takes off all makeup with only a few swipes and it doesn’t irritate the eyes or leave the skin feeling overly greasy.

Next I wash my face with a cleanser, or this is the first step if I wasn’t wearing a lot of makeup. The cleanser that I use is the Philosophy Purity Made Simple one-step facial cleanser and it is my absolute favorite. I have very sensitive skin that becomes dry and irritated easily and this is one of the only cleansers that I have been able to use over long periods of time. After I use it my face feels so smooth and clean, without feeling tight or dry. It also takes off makeup as well, which is why I use it alone on days I don’t wear much makeup.

Next I’ll exfoliate my face, usually every other day with the Philosophy The Microdelivery Exfoliating Wash. This help removes dead skin that clogs pores and leaves skin smooth and soft. The last step is to moisturize. I use the Philosophy Renewed Hope in a Jar (seeing a pattern here?) and it is my favorite moisturizer I have ever used. It makes my skin so soft, but it is not greasy in the least. Before I stared using this product, under my eyes tended to get very dry and would peel ,which was very painful. After using this product I have yet to experience that.

Products mentioned:

NARS Gentle Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover- $25.00

Philosophy Purity Made Simple- $24.00

Philosophy The Microdelivery Exfoliating Wash- $28.00

Philosophy Renewed Hope in a Jar- $47.00