Morphe Color Warm Swatches

I ordered the 35 Color Warm Palette from morphebrushes.com and decided to not only review the eyeshadow, but also swatch them.IMG_2005

First, I would like to mention the price of these palettes. They entire palette was on sale for $19.99 (original price is $39.99) for 35 eyeshadows, that means I got 35 eyeshadows for about 60 cents each. I believe the sale is still going (or maybe it’s always that price. I’IMG_2011m not sure) but 60 cents per eyeshadow is such a great deal that I wasn’t expecting much quality wise, but to my pleasure I was surprised.

Most of the eyeshadows in this palette are of great quality, and are much bigger than I imagined. They are about 2 in diameter and compare to about the size of Mac eyeshadows. One concern that I have is that the eyeshadows didn’t come with names, or even numbers, which makes it hard to swatch. What I’m going to do is swatch each row individually from left to right, and review them separately

The first row contains the lightest shades in the palette with 6/7 of them being mattes. I was excited when I first opened the package to find so many different matte shades. I almost went with buying the color mattIMG_2016e palette instead, which includes very similar shades to the color warm, except they are all matte. I usually don’t wear a lot of matte on an everyday basis, so I ended up with this palette. It does include a good balance between matte and shimmer shades.

These lighter shades are probably some of my least favorites in the palette. The very first shadow (lowest on my arm) took some effort to even make it show up in the picture. I did apply a light primer to my arm to begin with, but I feel as though with maybe a little more it would apply better. Like I said earlier these are all mattes with the exception of the last one. I found with this palette the matte shades are the least pigmented and hardest to apply. It takes some packing and primer to be visible on the eyes. I’m not saying it can’t be done, but there are definitely other eyeshadows in this palette that I like more. However, for the price they are great and I’m just being picky.

Moving on to the second row. IMG_2018 The shades in this row are significantly more pigmented than the last. It features more shimmers in pink and orange tones, and also the matte colors are more pigmented as well. I use a lot of the colors from this row for school and everyday. My favorites would include the first one. I love taupes and I think they are great for every season. The lovely taupe in this palette it’s light enough to be a base color for darker looks, or dark enough to be a crease color in lighter looks. I also love the 3rd and the 6th color in this row. They are both light matte browns and perfect shades to use in the crease.

For some reason row 3 looks very bright on my arm and dark in the palette. Anyway, this row is again not one of my favorites to use for everyday. I tend to stay away from orangesIMG_2021 because they don’t look good on me and the first couple shadows are bright orange. Also, the grey-ish purple shade in the middle is a nice color in the tin, but it lacks pigment when it’s on. It’s a shame because I was very excited about that shade in particular when I got the palette. Despite the first couple of shades that I might not use that often I really enjoy the shimmery brown colors.IMG_2024

Row 4 is probably my favorite as a whole, although I love the palette as a whole. It consists mainly of shimmery browns that are all highly pigmented and easily blend-able. I also love the last color! I’m very into plums for the fall and I think the color is just gorgeous. It works great in either the crease or the outer V of the eye. My only concern is that many of the shades in the rows are very similar colors. When they are all blended out they look pretty much the same as eachother.

IMG_2027The last row has the darkest shades in the palette. It also features a nice plum and a grey-ish purple that makes up for the disappointing one earlier. Most of these darker shades are highly pigmented, but also have a lot of fall out, the blacks especially. Using a strong eyeshadow base or primer is advised to keep the eyeshadow on your eye and not your cheek.

Overall I really enjoy this palette and believe it is worth more than the $20 I spent on it. Despite some pigmentation issues with the matte shades, all of the eyeshadows seem to be of good quality. I would definitely recommend this people not only who want quality makeup for less, but also someone willing to spend more because it is worth it.