Morphe Brushes Review

Recently I made a post reviewing and swatching the Color Warm palette from morphebrushes.com which you can see right here

While I was on the Morphe sight, I also bought the Set 648 – 18 Piece Professional Brush Set, which you can also view here. I had read great things about their brushes. I even heard they compare to Sigma brushes, but I don’t own any Sigma brushes so I can’t compare.

On the website it gives you a description of the brushes included, so I’m not going to go into that, but I will mention my favorite brushes, favorite things about the brushes, least favorite brushes, and overall experience.

First I would like to mention, it took some time for my brushes to be delivered from the time I ordered them. I selected three day shipping and I also noticed on the website it said processing would take up to a week. This was fine with me because I was in no desperate hurry to receive my brushes and eyeshadow. But, a week and three days went by and still no package. I checked back everyday for another three days, but it still hadn’t arrived. I was about to call them and ask if it had shipped yet, but then after two weeks, my makeup arrived.Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 8.35.50 PM

When I opened the brushes for the first time they had a very strong chemical smell. I washed them right away, but the smell stuck even after they were cleaned. Now, a couple week later, the smell had faded greatly, but is still somewhat noticeable. Also after I washed them, the white ones, which are made of goat hair started to frizz as they dried, but as soon as they dried completely they were fine.

My favorite brushes from the set are the angle blush, duo foundation, deluxe oval shadow, and the oval shadow The angle blush brush is very dense, applying the product evenly with good coverage, and it’s the perfect size. I like to use it for blush (obviously) and  to contour my cheekbones lightly.

The duo foundation brush is made of a mix between synthetic and sable bristles, and is very soft. It works great to apply foundation with a stippling motion, however it could be bigger. I wouldn’t use this brush to apply all of my foundation because it is quite small, but it’s great for areas like under the eyes, nose, and chin. It makes the foundation look smooth and airbrushed.

Next is both the oval shadow brush and the deluxe oval shadow brush. They are both made of sable, so again very soft. They are also both dense, but nottoo dense that there is a lot of fall out. They work well to pack the shadow on. I especially love the oval shadow because it is small enough to apply shadow precisely in the crease. The bristles are also long enough, and not too thick, that it works great for blending,

Now onto the brushes that I don’t love quite as much. There wasn’t any from this set that I dislike enough to not use, or in that case that I dislike that much in general. Though, my least favorites would have to be the pointed liner, small blending fluff, and the deluxe blending fluff.

I feel like the pointed liner brush is just very thin. It is hard to apply any type of eyeliner with it because it is flimsy and many products seem to be too heavy for it. I always end up with eyeliner that looks like a wavy line when I use this brush, but there is a good chance this could have something to do with user error. I’m not 100 percent used to using that type of brush to apply eyeliner, so I’m just gonna stick to my liquid eyeliner pen, or gel eyeliner with an angled eyeliner brush.

The next two brushed that I’m not as fond of are both of the blending fluffs. They are made of the goat hair which I said earlier got a little frizzy when I washed them. Even though most of the frizz went away when they dried, they still don’t look quite the same as how they came. Also the goat hair isn’t soft, actually it’s pretty course. I feel they are scratchy and don’t pack enough eyeshadow into the lid, leaving more of it on my cheek than actually on my eye.

As for the rest of the brushes I have no complaints. I don’t think they are as high quality as other brands, or as others claim them to be, but they work great. For only $40 they do exactly what I need them to do. Also I love how light weight all of the brushes are and they seem to be made to last. I don’t think I’ll be having a problem with them falling apart, and my favorite thing about them is that I have yet to experience any kind of shedding,

Brushes that shed are one of the biggest problems I have with other makeup brushes, so I was thrilled to no have one single bristle fall out onto my face, even after I washed all of them.

If you are thinking about purchasing brushes from this site, I would definitely go for it. It’s going to find brushes of this quality at a lower price.

Girl Code 101

This poem by Blythe Baird perfectly demonstrates that from an early age girls are taught to find their worth from how attractive they are to boys, to find power in masculinity, to thank street harassers, and protect themselves by being nice all the time.

Because society doesn’t empower us, we are encouraged to do the bare minimum, which is then sold as having it easy. Other times we are judged for taking advantage of a system that objectifies us.

Like the poet says, “This is not female privilege. This is survival of the prettiest,”