Back-to-School Beauty Essentials

For many, the start of a new school year can evoke an array of emotions previously suppressed by the mind-numbing nothingness that is summer break. From fear, to excitement, to down right anger, we’ve all been there when September, or August if your school hates you, rolls around. However, buying a new backpack and filing it with freshly sharpened pencils and empty notebooks made me feel like a new person. Now that I’m in high school, I grab the first binder I see off the shelf and maybe a pen, and thats about the extent of my supply shopping. The magic of using a new box of crayons has long worn off, and I am forced to look for that same confidence boost walking in the school doors for the first time, in other places. I turned to clearing the shelves at my local Sephora and Ulta. I decided to compile a list of beauty products as essential as a pencil for back-to-school.

    1. Dry Shampoo

Dry shampoo may the most important product when it comes to back-to-school, in my opinion. When school starts to pick up and I become flooded with homework, sometimes (more often than I’d like tBatiste-1-1-2o admit) I find myself up half the night trying to finish it, the last thing I want to do when I wake up from what little sleep I managed to get in, is wake up early to wash my hair. I would much rather spray in some dry shampoo still half asleep, and BAM no one will know my hair is actually quite dirty. Also, washing your hair everyday strips it of its natural oils leaving it dry and unhealthy, so by skipping a few days a week you will be doing your hair a big favor. My favorite dry shampoo right now is the Batiste dry shampoo for all hair types. I’m using it in the scent fruity and cheeky cherry and it smells amazing!

2. Leave In Conditioner               

favorite-beauty-products-5

Continuing with hair, another product perfect for back-to-school is a leave in conditioner. After a long summer in the sun and the pool, your hair can be left dry, dead, and frizzy. My absolute favorite leave in conditioner is the it’s a 10 miracle leave-in plus keratin. I could rave about this stuff all day to anyone who would listen. It strengthens hair, protects against heat, detangles, protects keratin in the hair, and more. It is a little bit on the pricey side however, my hair feels silkier and healthier with every use.

3. Hand Cream/ Lotion

No matter what I do my hands are dry and cracking around my fingernails, so I keep a tube of hand lotion in my school bag and reapply as needed throughout the day. I always make to sure to get something that is lightly scented as to not distract anyone in class with me.  There is always that one person in class you either sprays the strongest perfume or opens the strongest lotion and all eyes are on them immediately. In some cases, when I was in middle school there would be the kids making dramatic gagging sounds, and I’d prefer not to be the reason for their scene.

4. BB Cream/ Tinted Moisturizer 

Moving on to makeup, either a BB cream or tinted moisturizer is perfect for thoselaura-mercier-tinted-moisturizer-spf-20 days when you want a no makeup, makeup look. I’d recommend one of those two over a foundation for school, anyway. They are lighter and give a little bit of coverage where you may want it, but nothing to heavy for school.  Also they soften skin
and many have SPF to protect skin from UV rays in the warmer months. I’ve tried a large assortment of BB creams. CC creams, and tinted moisturizers, but my favorite is the Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer. It is on the more expensive side, so if your looking for something a little less pricey, the Maybelline Dream Fresh BB cream works great as well.

4. Translucent Powder 

Using a translucent powder is a great way to set makeup and get rid of shine throughout the day. It keeps your face completely matte and looks almost as natural as skin. I’ve used pressed translucent powders and loose powders and definitely prefer loose powders. I feel it gives a lighter feel and a more natural finish. The one I am using at the moment is the is the NYX Cosmetics Studio Finishing Powder Translucent Finish and is a great product for the lower cost.

5. Makeup Removing Wipes 

Okay, I know I said dry shampoo is the most important product for back-to-school, but makeup remover is actually the most important. There is nothing worse than forgetting to take off makeup at night and waking up with it smeared all over your face. I like to use either the Say Yes to Cucumber wipes which are cooling and feel great, or the Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes. You should also use a facial cleanser along with makeup remover to remove dirt and oil as well as makeup.    2211805